Summit inducts 41 students into National Junior Honor Society

Summit inducts 41 students into National Junior Honor Society


The Summit Country Day School inducted 41 members of the class of 2026 into the Round Table Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) on Feb. 28.

Head of School Rich Wilson’s opening comments focused on classical guitarist Christopher Parkening and how he drove himself relentlessly, touring constantly. He eventually had a nervous breakdown and stopped everything for three years.

Parkening emerged from that sabbatical with many thoughts on the difference between success, attaining or achieving cultural goals, which elevates one’s importance in society, and excellence, the pursuit of quality in one’s work and effort, whether the culture recognizes it or not.

“You might not know who Christopher Parkening is, but my advice to you is to reflect on his words about the difference between success and excellence and choose to follow the path of excellence the rest of your life,” Mr. Wilson said.        

Inductees from the Class of 2026:  Haley Baker, Quinn Bohmer, Emily Bolan, Braden Bricking, Sydney Brinkman, Sophie Brouwer, Sophia Carazo, Coleton Chadwell, Jillian Chavez, Hana Conte, Evie Cooper, Meghana Curran, Jackson Curt, Devlan Daniel, Ava Dona, Caleb Driessen, Allison Ebken, Sage Epling, Callie Fox, Aaron Fraley, Rosie Gieseke, Jonathan Grooms, Charles Healy, Sam Hinton, Blake Hollenbeck, Marcel Huguet, Zaina Kamran, Callie Karageorges, Kadyn Keeney, Natalie Kenter, Cammy Lorentz, Gabi McCauley, Kaitlyn Rassi, Allie Reuter, Charlie Ritch, Connor Schaaf, Nabil Sinno, Sabian Swan, Ceci Viveros Valdepeña, Claire Wiltshire and Sasha Woodard.

These students hail from Greater Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky neighborhoods.     

Middle school math teacher Carolyn Varick is the advisor for the Round Table Chapter of NJHS.

See more photos from the induction ceremony here