Summit Upper School receives Emerald Award for service

Summit students receive awards for service

(Top to Bottom) Lily Charville, Katie Dobelhoff, Johanna Huelsman and Erin Devine received Ambassador Awards as part of the National Community Service Awards. Sam Vessel, who is Livestream Learning, also earned an Ambassador Award.


The Summit Country Day Upper School has been given the Emerald Award for 8,290 service hours completed from June 2019 to April 2020.

42 students also received individual National Community Service Awards. These awards, given by InnerView and the United Nations Association of the United States of America, were released in time for today’s National Day of Service and Recognition.

Hours logged with InnerView from June to April must involve service towards one or more of the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals, also known as Global Goals, to be eligible for awards.

26 Summit students received the Merit Award for 20-39 hours in at least 4 different activities. 9 students received the Honor Award for 40-99 hours in at least 8 different activities. And 6 students received the Ambassador Award for 100+ hours in at least 12 different activities. 

In addition, 8 students have been recognized by InnerView and The Kroger Company as Zero Heroes for doing 8+ hours dedicated to ending hunger in our community.

Summit graduates received their awards directly, and the school was not given their names.

Current Summit students who received the awards are:

Ambassador Awards: Erin Devine '21, Sam Vessel '21, Katie Dobelhoff '22, Johanna Huelsman '22, Lily Charville '23

Honor Awards: Kate Bergeron '21, Adam Foley '21, Hans Huelsman '21, Irene Calderon '22, Siena Cutforth '22, Jimmy Fraley '22, Teddy Sumnar '22, Shannon Dennemann '23

Merit Awards: Colin Altmix '21, Oliva Faucett '21, A.J. Ferguson '21, Margot Lakes '21, Evan Lakhia '21, Lily Ritch '21, Kayla Vaughn '21, Lindsey Vaughn '21, Will Yagodich '21, Vennis Yang '21, Riley Bridge '22, Nicholas Ciaccio '22, Aubrey Jones '22, Rylie Lane '22, Lily Lippert '22, Karley Michel '22, Kathryn Shaffer '22, Ella Barnes '23, Savannah Eveslage '23, Lavina Grzymajlo '23, Evan Mescher '23, Kendall Ralph '23, Leo Schrantz '23, Selena Xie '23. 

Zero Hunger Awards: Matthew Dahling '21, Arthur Li '21, Ophelia Li '21, Graham Nicholson '21, Ben Perez '21, Sam Perez '21, Cate Pilon '22, Philip Wilhelmy '23.