Yearbook staff secures 2023 Regional Award for Jostens

Yearbook staff secures 2023 Regional Award for Jostens
group of students with teacher

The yearbook staff at The Summit has secured the 2023 Regional Award for in the Jostens National Yearbook Program of Excellence competition.

The annual award recognizes "extraordinary hard work that goes into creating a yearbook." Criteria include creating a book that is meaningful for all students, putting a copy in every student’s hands and effective project management that values student coverage, meeds deadlines and hits goals.

This success follows previous awards in 2017 for the cover and end sheets.

Co-editors both last year and this year are juniors Audrey Shisler, Jordyn Lauckner, Jocelyn Lauckner and Caitlyn Frodge. Their collaborative efforts have shaped the narrative of the school year, demonstrating both creative skill and effective leadership. The faculty moderator of the yearbook is Dr. Tracy Law, Ph.D., a social studies teacher in the Upper School and 1985 Summit alumnae.

“Being able to include every event that happens in a given year is an impossible task for a variety of reasons," Dr. Law said. "Therefore, the challenge of pulling together a yearbook for an 18-month to 18-year-old community is to create something that represents the spirit of that school year. It is the only historical document that has to show the essence of our community during that year. I am proud of my small staff for creating a beautiful publication that addresses this challenge in an aesthetically appealing way.”