Alumni Awards

The Summit Alumni Awards recognizes alumni who demonstrate the mission of The Summit: To develop spiritually, academically, physically socially and artistically, and to become leaders of character who value and improve the world they inherit. 

The Athletic Hall of Fame Awards recognize outstanding athletic accomplishments by alumni “on the field” during their years as Summit students. The Awards are presented each year in partnership between the Athletics Department  and the Alumni Office.

2023 Special Awards

The Summit Country Day School inaugurated three special awards at the 2023 Hall of Fame induction ceremony. 

man talking at podium

Farrell Ackley Award: Tim Jedding, Summit social studies teacher, is the first recipient of the Farrell Ackley Award. The late Farrell Ackley was a celebrated coach at The Summit and a key figure in developing competitive athletics for boys when the school became coeducational in 1972. The award  honors an individual who has been an outstanding model of athletic success, while consistently exemplifying the values of honesty, character, discipline and loyalty that Coach Farrell Ackley found to be so important. Ackley’s widow, Roberta “Bobbie” Ackley, attended the awards ceremony. Jedding came to The Summit in 1996. Starting in 2008, he was head golf coach for 11 years. Under his mentorship, the golf team made state appearances three times – 2008, 2010 and 2017 while individual golfers went to state in 2009, 2013 and 2018. His teams went to the district tournament every year. His teams won the Southwest Ohio District Title in 2010 and 2017 and set the school record in 2017 coming in fourth at state. As one of the Summit Upper School faculty members teaching leadership, Jedding has impressed upon his golfers how important the qualities of honesty, integrity and discipline are to leadership. 

smiling man

Silver Knights Victory Award: Mike Bergeron, Hyde Park, is the first recipient of the Silver Knights Victory Award which honors a Summit athletics benefactor who has supported the efforts of the Silver Knights athletes through spirit of service, loyalty, time and resources. Bergeron is co-founder and managing partner of Strength Capital. He served on The Summit’s Board of Trustees for six years and chaired it from 2012 – 2014. With his wife, Annie, he co-chaired the school’s last two fund-raising campaigns. During a decade of service to the school’s K-6, parent-run youth athletic program, Bergeron has coached boy’s and girl’s soccer, boy’s and girl’s basketball and boy’s lacrosse.  He is known in The Summit Community for his positive attitude about everything involving Summit athletics. 

woman talking at podium

Sister Rose Ann Fleming ’50: AwardLaura Haas, Leadership and Student Activities Coordinator at The Summit, received the inaugural Sister Rose Ann Fleming ’50 Award which honors a community member who played a significant role in the advancement, development and success of female athletics at The Summit. Sister Rose Ann was a 1950 graduate of The Summit and one-time president of the school. She is now Special Assistant to EMSS and Athletics/Co-Faculty Athletics Representative at Xavier University.  Haas, who first came to The Summit in 1983 as a physical education and health teacher, arrived at a pivotal time in America when the culture of female athletics changed. She has coached girl’s volleyball, soccer, girls, soccer, basketball, track, softball and field hockey. In 1999 and again in 2001, she received Ohio High School Athletic Association awards for sportsmanship, ethics and integrity in both field hockey and softball. was inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame in 2014. 

Distinguished Alumni Awards