alumnus gives speech

Alumni Awards

The Summit Alumni Awards were established to honor alumni who carry out the mission of The Summit – to develop spiritually, academically, physically, socially and artistically, and to become leaders of character who value and improve the world they inherit. The Athletic Hall of Fame Awards are presented each year in a partnership between the Athletics Department and Alumni Office to recognize the outstanding athletic accomplishments of alumni on the field during their tenure as a student. 

McKenzie-Sargent Distinguished Alumni Award

Named in honor of our first two alumnae, Anna McKenzie and Olive Sargent, Class of 1893. It is The Summit’s highest honor given to alumni. The award is presented annually to an alumna/us of the Upper School or The Summit Boys School (through 1971) for his or her achievements in career, community volunteer leadership and/or service to The Summit. All graduates of The Summit are eligible for nomination, except those currently serving on The Summit Country Day School Board of Trustees or Summit Alumni Association Board.

Those receiving this award since 1995 are:

2019 Conky Greiwe ’61 
2018 C. Bert Amann Jr. SBS '45
2017 Patricia (Tyler) Perin '45
2016 Award not given
2015 Walter "Chip" Homan SBS '66
2014 Ruth Jung Conway '46
2013 William T. Baumann SBS '59
2012 Peggy Feltrup Becker-Jackson ’49
2011 Hon. Julia A. Stautberg ’85
2010 Edward F. “Hap” Castleberry SBS ’46
2009 Mary (Foss) Brinkmeyer '67
2008 Albert E. Heekin SBS ’54
2007 H. Nicholas Ragland III SBS ‘58
2006 Sharon Williams Frisbie ‘69
2005 Award not given
2004 Nancy Stone Black ‘57
2003 Gabrielle Bouscaren Reynolds ‘66
2002 Raymond E. Schilderink SBS ‘64
2001 Hon. Timothy S. Hogan SBS ‘55

2000 Robert L. Greiwe SBS ‘46
1999 Thomas C. Theobald SBS '50
1998 Christine L. Blum '69
1997 Lawrence H. Kyte, Jr. SBS '52
1996 Sr. Agnes Immaculata Guswiler, SNDdeN '16
1995 Dr. Cora Glassmeyer Ogle '61
1994 Robert A. Ryan SBS '26
1993 Dr. Joan Seifert Brugge '67
1992 Mary Lois Jung, M.D. '45
1991 Frederick B. Rentschler SBS '53
1990 Peggy Henkel Schott '42
1989 Gov. John J. Gilligan SBS '35
1988 William J. SBS '29 and Helen DeCourcy Williams '38
1987 Rev. Michael D. McCafferty C.S.C. SBS '60
1986 Rev. Edward F. Brockhaus SBS '52
1985 Dr. Charles M. Barrett SBS '26
1984 Sr. Rose Ann Fleming, S.N.D. '50
1983 Marjorie DuBrul Shiels '31

The following awards were established in 2005 and are presented each year. It is important to note these honors are not necessarily presented annually but are conferred based upon merit. Nominate an outstanding alumnus or alumna today.

The Meritorious Service Award

The Meritorious Service Award is granted to a Summit graduate, or former student, for specific and meritorious service to The Summit, the community, state or nation.

2019 Emily J. (Sheckels) Ahouse '98
2014 Liz (Glassmeyer) Spahr '70
2013 Andy Huesing '89
2012 Joe Kroeger '97
2011 Allison (Weber) Erickson '88
2010 Dave Hickenlooper '85
2009 Kara (Luttenegger) Valz '88; Joe Ventura SBS '65
2008 Jane (Buse) Burke '70
2007 Kathryn (Stahl) Harsh '84
2006 Kathy (Pohl) Wagner '66 +
2005 Grace Gottenbush '85

The Artistic Achievement Award

The Artistic Achievement Award is given to an alumna/us in recognition of their significant contributions to the world of art.
2014 Gavin Tabone '92
2013 Harry Moeller '88
2012 Dave Wachter '94
2010 J. Noah Hunt '88;
Spencer Vanderzee '05  
2008 Che' Rhodes BMS '87

Spiritual-Christian Service Award

The Spiritual-Christian Service Award is given to a Summit alumna/us who has devoted their life in service to others, affirms the fullness and complexity of human existence, appreciates social justice and brings about changes that make it more possible to live The Summit mantra in contemporary society.

2014 Fr. Marc Soellner '99
2013 Daniel Petrie '03
2012 Mike Dreyer '91
2011 Jerry Hilton '91

Young Alumni Award
The Young Alumni Award is given to an alumna/us who has graduated during the last 20 years. It is awarded for significant accomplishments in business or professional life or for service to the community or The Summit and/or The Summit Alumni Association.

2019 René J. Cheatham III '03
2014 Craig Erickson '95
2013 Lindsay Botsford '98
2012 Alicia Bond-Lewis '97
2011 Lauren (Brinkmeyer) Goebel '96; Trenita (Brookshire) Childers '01
2010 Osagie Obasogie '95
2009 Dan Reynolds '02
2008 Caitlin (Wills) Toker '88
2007 Tracy "Ty" Moore '02
2006 David Falk '94
2005 Christopher Kenney '94

Honorary Family Award
The Honorary Family Award is given to a dedicated Summit legacy family for their outstanding support of The Summit Country Day School and its values, ideas and mission.

2014 LaBar Family
2013 Seltman & Friesz Families
2012 Walter Family
2011 Fullen Family
2010 Pohl Family
2009 Baluyot Family
2008 Lippert Family

Athletic Hall of Fame
The Summit Athletics and Alumni offices have been inducting members of The Summit's Athletic Hall of Fame since 1984. See a complete list of award winners here.

Nominate an alum: