Summit Parents Association

group of people posing for photo

Every parent of a Summit student is automatically a member of the Summit Parents Association. The SPA is committed to building a strong and inclusive parent community dedicated to enhancing the overall student educational experience at The Summit.

The Summit Parents Association (SPA) supports the Mission of The Summit Country Day School and promotes a strong, integrated and diverse community of parents, faculty, staff and students to enhance the education of our children.

Through programs and events, the SPA provides opportunities for parents to connect with one another and make positive contributions through volunteerism. We look forward to meeting you and helping you get connected as a parent at The Summit.

A Message from Christy Neyer,
2022-23 SPA President

woman smiling

On behalf of the Summit Parent Association for the 2022-23 school year, I’d like to welcome you to The Summit!

My name is Christy Neyer, and I am honored to be your SPA. President for the upcoming year. I have been fortunate to be on the SPA Board for four years, and it has been another wonderful way to experience The Summit! My husband Tom and I have a fifth-grade daughter, Estelle, who has been a student here since she was not-quite three years old. From Montessori, through Lower School (which we will miss so much) and now into Middle School (about which we are so excited) the Summit family has been so very good for ours!

Tom and I are both born and raised in Cincinnati, but neither of us attended The Summit ourselves. We were encouraged by friends to consider The Summit as we explored school options for Estelle, and how grateful we are that we did! The Summit has been a wonderful experience for Estelle, and the SPA as well as our other involvements have made the Summit community a true blessing.  

While there are many aspects of Summit for which I am grateful, of course the greatest is the education and experience that Estelle receives every day. As a parent and volunteer, I had the opportunity to participate in those experiences along the way: I started as a Montessori Room Parent, Halloween Party Co-Chair and Helping Hands volunteer. Eventually I became S.P.A. Lower School Chair and then Board Vice President. During COVID I became a substitute teacher and found a true joy in working with the LS students one on one.

Through these different positions, I have had the opportunity to learn about our Summit community, and most importantly, contribute to the advancement of my daughter’s school. The Summit is doing great things, and our parents are at the center of it! I hope that you and your family will choose to be an active part of The Summit community as well.  

Perhaps like yours, my family and I arrived at The Summit as strangers. We have never looked back, and now it truly is a part of our home. As much as we already love it, I must say that we are so excited to see where our “home” is heading! Our Summit is already an amazing place, and there are exciting new changes happening all around. I am confident that Kelley Schiess will be an amazing Head of School, and she is bringing other top-notch people with her to augment our already fantastic faculty and staff. There are beautiful renovations and improvements to our majestic campus under way, with other plans being developed. Best of all are you, our Summit students and families - both brand new and of long standing.

Let me take this opportunity to thank you, and everyone on campus, for the chance to be a part of your Summit family. I so appreciate the hard work and dedication of the many members and leaders of the Summit Parents Association. My family and I are grateful for The Summit, and for the opportunity to be a part of the SPA.

Christy Neyer, 2022-23 SPA President 

Meet the Current SPA Board

logo and words that say summit parents association

The SPA Board is a group of parents committed to promoting a strong, integrated and diverse community among the parents, faculty, staff and students to enhance the education of our children.

President: Christy Neyer 
Vice President: Emily Ahouse '98 
Second Vice President: Jenny Price 
Treasurer:  Jennifer Uy  
Assistant Treasurer:  Lonny Elfenbein 
Secretary:  Ann Hunt 
Montessori Chair: Sara Bray 
Lower School Chair:  Sara Cherot-Abercrombie 
Middle School Chair:  Maureen Hood 
Upper School Chair:  Abby Workman 
New Family Connection Montessori Chair: Deifilia Diaz
New Family Connection LS Chair:  Corrine Sams
New Family Connection MS Chair: Trish Wiltshire
New Family Connection US Chair: Jennifer Schlotman and Shelia Oeder
Spirit Shop Operations Managers: Lauren Yarnell and Judy Toebben 

SPA Staff Liaison: Beth Bissmeyer | (513) 871-4700 x239